Call the Midwife

Thank goodness for adorable, high-quality shows! I know adorable isn’t the best adjective to describe a show aimed at adults, but it was the first to pop into my head. “Call the Midwife” is my current obsession; I’m telling everyone I know, “You have to watch it!” I came across it randomly one day while flipping channels – there was some special (I’m guessing) about it on PBS, and it reminded me of Downton Abbey. I figured since I’m going through Downton-withdrawal, I may as well give this show a try, and thank goodness I did!

The show is based on the memoirs of Jennifer Worth and set in 1950s London (already perfect, in my opinion. Favorite era, favorite city). It focuses on a young woman, Jenny Lee, who begins work as a midwife at Nonnatus House, a convent. She and the Sisters and other midwives service the slums of the East End, and throughout the episodes she comes in contact with many different people, and finds herself growing into a compassionate woman.

Jenny is my favorite character; I feel like she and I are very similar. But believe me, it’s hard to choose one favorite. Every single person is so endearing. Aside from the characters, I absolutely love the clothing on this show! Everything is so classic and classy. I honestly believe that I was born in the wrong decade, and actually belong in the 1940s and 50s.

Jessica Raine in Call the Midwife Source: http://www.redcliffestyle.com/2012/10/my-new-obsession-and-call-midwife.html

The hair and makeup is beautiful, too – natural and simple. I’m constantly searching for tutorials, but haven’t found any yet!

It’s a good thing my summer vacation is just getting started, because I would hate to be interrupted in watching Seasons 1 and 2; I’m already two episodes into Season 2 and can’t wait for Season 3 to begin! In the meantime, I guess I’ll just have to pass the time with reading the books. Things could be so much worse, couldn’t they?

Have you seen Call the Midwife? What do you think? Who is your favorite character?

One thought on “Call the Midwife

  1. I just discovered Call the Midwife and borrowed the DVD of the first season. I also absolutely love the show so far. I do feel that the show is not for everyone. I was able to watch Downton Abbey with my teenage girls but not this show. I feel the birthing scenes are a little too real but it’s still a wonderful show. I find myself crying while watching every episode!

Please share your thoughts!

