Book Review – Call the Midwife

Not surprisingly, I loved Call the Midwife even more than I love the show. Jennifer Worth details her early years as a midwife at Nonnatus House in London’s East End, starting with her surprise at working in a convent. Throughout her experiences, Jennifer finds herself changing from a young woman who finds the nuns and their practices amusing, and who has no strong religious ties of her own, into a woman who finds the wisdom in a Sister’s advice – “Go with God.”

Each chapter often focuses on one experience, whether it’s a mother whose child she, Jennifer, is helping to deliver, or an elderly woman whose life she learns about while treating her over time. Each person that Jennifer comes into contact with has a unique history and life that shows the diversity and hardships of living in the East End during the 1950s.

This is not a book that I would expect myself to have read, if not for the show on PBS. I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed this book. There are stories which break your heart, and stories which make you smile. Overall, when I finished the book I felt humbled, in a way. I felt happy to have read such a beautifully-written memoir, and to learn of so many experiences that people went through and yet continued to have hope. I know that as soon as I closed the book, I could only say, “I loved this book.” I cannot recommend the book (or the show!) enough.

Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth Source: http://www.paperplus.co.nz/book/Call-The-Midwife-A-True-Story-of-the-East-End-in-the-1950s?i=9780753827871
Please share your thoughts!

