Review: The Peach Keeper

I’m on a Sarah Addison Allen kick! Immediately after finishing First Frost, I pulled The Peach Keeper off my shelf, because I had so enjoyed my first taste of Sarah Addison Allen. The two books I’ve read so far have been the perfect reads for summer – although, First Frost would have been an even better read once fall comes around and I have my cozy decorations up! I’m sure I’ll be able to find something off my TBR pile.

The Peach Keeper is set in North Carolina, in a small town called Walls of Water. The story centers around two young women who have lived in Walls of Water their entire lives, and whose families have a history. Despite this, Willa Jackson and Paxton Osgood have no interest in each other. So when Willa gets an invitation to the 75th anniversary gala for the Walls of Water Women’s Society Club, she of course brushes it off. Willa is especially uninterested this year because the gala will be held at the Blue Ridge Madam Inn, an old sprawling mansion built by her great-great grandfather…and being restored as a bed-and-breakfast by Paxton and her high-society family. As renovations and landscaping near their end, a skeleton is uncovered beneath a peach tree in front of the Blue Ridge Madam. The mystery surrounding the body brings Paxton and Willa closer together than they could have predicted, and helps them to discover more about their families’ histories, and themselves.

This was a book that I thoroughly enjoyed (I finished it in three days – yay, summer!). I really liked both Willa and Paxton, and was happy to watch their friendship develop. This story had more than friendship, and I loved the romance piece of it, too. I found myself able to connect to the characters, especially Paxton and her relationship with her family. Somewhat similarly to First Frost, I came across several sentences that I especially loved. This story also had just the right amount of magic in it, which is present in all of Allen’s novels (and why I want to keep reading more!). Overall, if I had to compare the two, I may have to place The Peach Keeper slightly above First Frost. My only reason for this would be that I felt more of a connection to these characters, and that could simply be because they were the same age as me and going through similar experiences (kind of…).

Off to the library to check out another book or two so I can continue the Sarah Addison Allen binge!

8546358
Source: Goodreads

Please share your thoughts!

